Institute for Sustainable Energy Policies
Go for the sustainable energy society
HOME About ISEP Project Event Publication Support&Participation Japanese
| our mission | Organization Profile | Management Structure |
our mission

Institute for Sustainable Energy Policies (ISEP) is an independent, non-profit research organization, founded in 2000 by energy experts and climate change campaigners. Through our work we aim to provide resources and services to realize sustainable energy policies. Main areas of our activities include promotion of renewable energy, improvement of energy efficiency, and restructuring energy market.

We engage ourselves in a wide range of programs and activities by providing policy recommendations with regard to renewable energy and energy efficiency to the Japanese government, guidance and advice to local municipalities, conducting events such as international conference and symposium. We also closely liase with many organizations in Europe, the United States and Asia to promote exchange/introduce updated information on sustainable energy policies. In addition, we have implemented community winds and solar power projects through Citizens' Fund and Green Energy Com which is our relevant body for project implementation.
Organization Profile
Institute for Sustainable Energy Policies (ISEP)
Executive Director
Tetsunari Iida
4-7-3 Nakano, Nakano-ku, Tokyo, 164-0001, Japan
info01[@] (please remove [ ] when you send e-mail)

Management Structure
Board of Trustees

Tetsunari IIDA (Executive Director, Institute for Sustainable Energy Policies)
Yasushi SANTO (Guest Professor, Kansai Gakuin University)
Toru SUZUKI (Executive Secretary, Hokkaido Green Fund)
Baku NISHIO (President, Citizen's Nuclear Information Center)
Masaru NAKAJIMA (Executive Secretary, J-Water)
Hironao MATSUBARA (Chief Researcher, Institute for Sustainable Energy Policies)
Soren Hermansen (Director of the Samso Energy Academy)

Hiroyuki KAWAI (Lawyer)
Board of Advisors

Izumi USHIYAMA (Professor, Ashikaga Institute of Technology)
Minoru KUMAZAKI (President, Gifu Academy of Forest Science and Culture)
Mika OHBAYASHI (Asia Oceania Policy Manager,IRENA)
Ayako FUJII (Chief Director, Environment Co-operative Union Shiga)
Iwane FUJII (Professor, Meiji University)
Katsuto UCHIHASHI (Economist)
Yugo ONO (Professor, Hokkaido University)
Takamitsu SAWA (Professor, Kyoto University)
Harumi SUDA (President, Coalition of Local Government for Environmental Initiative)
Haruki TSUCHIYA (President, System Technology Laboratory, Co.,Ltd. )
Norihiro MITSUHASHI (Professor, Chiba University of Commerce)
Koichi YAMANASHI (Lawyer)
Yuichi KAITO (Former Director, New Energy Foundation)
Koichi HASEGAWA (Professor, Tohoku University)
USA: Nicholas Lenssen,Senior Specialist, Market Intelligence, Vestas-American Wind Technology, Inc.
SWEDEN:Tomas Koberger, Lic.of Eng., Institute of Physical Resource Theory, Chalmers University of Technology
DENMARK:Prof. Jorgen Norgard, Department of Buildings and Energy, Technical University of Denmark


Exsective Director: Tetsunari IIDA
Research Director: Eric Martinot(bio)
Chief Researcher: Hironao MATSUBARA
Senior Researcher: Noriaki YAMASHITA
Researcher: Shota FURUYA
Researcher: Akira URAI
Researcher: Tsuyoshi YOSHIOKA
Researcher: Hirokazu FUNATSU
Researcher: Terumi NAGATA